In the 2011 Urban Oasis apartment, Vern Yip has a reproduction of the Frank Lloyd Wright Midway Garden sprites. I want to see how I can get one of these for my very own.       🙂

So Google is my friend, and I am whisked of to About.com where I learn that the Sprites of Midway Garden are now the Biltmore Sprites.  Their origin was indeed with Frank Lloyd Wright in 1914 along with a sculptor named Alfonso Iannelli.  I’ll skip most of the history, but they eventually made it to Arizona in the 80s.

It did not take me long to find some full scale replicas.  However, they are over $1000 and weigh 400lbs. A little further digging led me to ones that were a little over 2.5 feet and about 50lbs.  They ranged from $164 -$277.  That is a little more like it, but without a yard that still may be outside of my price range for a chotcke.

(You do have a yard?  I have not vetted this site, but you can check it out. http://www.finegardenproducts.com/Sculptures-And-Sprites_c_23.html)

So now it is off to where I should have gone in the first place… to the official Frank Lloyd Wright website and store.  They have a 31 inch version

http://www.franklloydwright.com/browse.cfm/2,241.html

Maybe the $190 Midway chess set might get the most use.  After admiring a set of Foo Lions, I find an indoor use 12 inch sprite for $75

While it is cute, it just doesn’t have the same effect.  I guess I will have to wait until I get a yard and save my pennies.